Swear and Shake

25 Nov

IMG_6741.JPG

The first time I wrote about Swear and Shake was in May of 2011. I remember they contacted me, sending over a video performance of their song, The Light. It took less than a minute to become enthralled by their music. There are many things I love about this band, a big one being the harmonies shared between Kari Spieler and Adam McHeffey. Over the years, Swear and Shake have become a staple in my music collection. I love uniqueness in music, and S&S defines uniqueness. Their ability to perform a song so effortlessly has made me a lifelong fan. Are you intrigued yet?

Sounds That Matter has started the new format and that means Monday brings Short & Sweet Questionnaires. Get to know Adam and Kari better and jump on the Swear and Shake bandwagon.

The song I’d love to cover is:
Adam: “Nick of Time” by Bonnie Raitt

One of the things that connects me to a song is:
Kari: The first thing I connect to when listening to music is the vocals, but I feel most connected to a song when the story is something really interesting. For instance, The Last Bison’s song “Switzerland” seems like an amazing adventure through the freezing cold to find warmth and hospitality. I love that and it transports me somewhere else.

One of the most exciting things about being on stage is:
Adam: When you see people singing a long to your song. There’s no feeling like it, especially when you’re a thousand miles from home.

If I could better myself at one thing, musically, it would be:
Kari: I would love to be the kind of songwriter that writes outside of their own personal experience. I often write about heartache and friendship, things that really happened to me, sometimes with a twist. I’d love to be a “craft” writer—not just an emotional one.

Today’s top 40 music lacks:
Adam: I’d have to listen.
Kari: More music that takes a risk and uses more creativity. I’ll tell you who’s doing great: Sam Smith! I think he’s killing it. And I’m also extremely proud of Meghan Trainor. I think her song “All About That Bass” is unique and special and she deserves all the credit in the world.

Speaking of cover songs, S&S recently released a video covering “Friday I’m In Love” by The Cure. Prepare to fall in love.

Leave a Reply

