Recommended Artists

30 Sep

Keeping up on this blog has not been a strong suit of mine lately. Back in July, I announced that Sounds That Matter was moving to Chicago. Well, I’m here now, and I’ve been busy. Unfortunately, this has resulted in me not posting as much as I’d like to. Since I’m now settled in a place, I feel like I can fully give my best effort into making Sounds That Matter one of the best places to discover new music.

So, let’s get right down to it.

Living in the city means being exposed to so many different types of music. If you’ve been following Sounds That Matter for awhile, you know how much I love discovering new artists. Here are just a few of the standouts that have been recommended to me, and now I recommend them to you.

St. South

I discovered St. South a few days ago while browsing Spotify artists. Olivia Gavranich, the artist behind St. South, only has two songs on there right now, but both are solid. Her music is described as “easy chill” which is the best description. Her voice is like silk and the slow beats are enough to put you in a trance. Olivia has gotten a lot of recognition due to winning a spot on Bon Iver’s Stems Project with her single, We Washed Texas. If you’re a fan of compelling voices, I highly recommend St. South.

COOLRUNNINGS

This band was recommended to me this morning by a good friend of mine, Eric. Whenever he suggests a song, I’m typically skeptical, only because he mostly suggests songs from The Spice Girls catalog. When he sent over this band, I was intrigued. Being the researcher that I am, I immediately looked up their stuff on Spotify. Not only is just one of their songs good, but the majority of the songs on their album, Dracula Is Only The Beginning, are solid. Hailing from Japan, they have yet to pick up a big following in the States, but I’m holding out hope that it won’t take long for these superstars to get picked up.

Young Liars

Have you heard of this band? If not, stop wasting time and click play. Their style is unique and the music has a very California feel to it – chill but also powerful. From start to finish, their brand new record, Tidal Wave, is a prize winner. Not only is it a perfect album to listen to while driving through the streets, but it’s also excellent for background music to cook dinner to. Keep your ears peeled for the name Young Liars. These Canadian boys will surely be noticed in no time.

ASTR

A duo from New York, it didn’t take me long to get hooked on their music. We Fall Down, from their brand new EP, is one song I can’t stop replaying. It’s catchy, danceable, and full of great vibes. Their style and approach is a lot different than what I’m seeing right now, which makes their music stand out. I think once you hear the song, you’re going to want to hear more. Plus, they do a Drake cover on the EP and it’s much better than the original.

Leave a Reply

