Reviews, Reviews, Reviews

2 Oct

What did I think about all of the concerts I’ve been to lately?

Find out here.

Panic! At the Disco – Radio Radio (August 14)

Panic!

The moment Brendan Urie belted out the first note, I felt like I was transported back into my early twenties. Just like the past times I’ve seen Panic, Brendan was a firecracker on stage. His vocals were on point, the performance was super energetic, and they made sure to play some of my favorites from their first album, A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out (which I like to think they did just for me).

My only complaint, and if you know me personally this shouldn’t surprise you, was the obnoxious people who held up their cell phones pretty much the entire show. If you’re one of the people who do this, stop. Do you really want to go back and watch a shitty recorded version of the show? I hope you answered no. Bands hate it. People who attend the show to actually pay attention to the band hate it. So stop it.

All in all, the sold out show was a blast, and I’d gladly pay to see them again.

Jimmy Eat World – Egyptian Room (August 17)

JEW

Oh my gosh. I think I’m still in speechless from this show. I saw Jimmy Eat World only once before at The Metro in Chicago, and they did not let me down the second time around. When you try and explain to someone how in love you are with a bands music, there’s never enough words to. For example: I love them. I adore their music. Their music makes my world brighter. Their music impacts me more than any other bands. See, all of that and I still feel like I didn’t touch the surface of how I feel.

Anyways, the show was phenomenal. They performed a wide range of hits (newer and older) and the entire time I watched them, I felt like I was on cloud nine. I know that’s an overrated saying, but it’s a good one.

Thank you to my friend, Kurt for allowing me to tag along. It was an epic night of music and fun.

Mumford and Sons – Klipsch Music Center (September 2)

Mumford

Aside from the interesting crowd, this was a great show. Mumford is an excellent band to see live. If I had to pick one thing I didn’t like, and this may sound negative, but honestly if I were a band, I’d love hearing it. They sounded exactly like the CD. Now some of you may love that about a band, and that’s totally fine. Personally, I love being surprised by the band. I love listening to their CD and then seeing them live and going, “Holy shit, they sound even better live!” So there. That was my one complaint.

Note: Surprisingly, my view wasn’t blocked by as many camera phones at this show, but I was in the lawn, so mostly I watched those big screens you see in the picture I’ve attached.

The Mowgli’s – Radio Radio ( September 6)

IMG_3535

Some of you may know this band. Some of you may not. The Mowgli’s are a group, a big group, of talented musicians from California. Now if you’re a frequent visitor to the site, you know that I lean toward more slower/sad/depressing music, but The Mowgli’s upbeat, positive vibe really grabbed my attention. Their song “San Francisco” is one hell of a tune. Let’s talk about the live performance. You guys…you’d think if there were eight people on a small stage, it would somehow not work, well The Mowgli’s made it happen and then some. They performed together like they’d been doing it for centuries. One of the best things about this band: Their interaction with the crowd. I don’t think I’ve ever felt so loved by a band before. I know I know…a lot of bands tell the crowd that it’s the “best crowd ever” but when The Mowgli’s preached it, I feel like they really did mean it. So there, Indy IS the best crowd ever.

And here comes my complaint: There was a crowd, maybe four or five young kids (geez, this entire post makes me sound like I’m some sort of old lady who despises noise and cell phones. I’m not, trust me) but these kids were so insanely obnoxious that I wasn’t the only one wanting to muzzle them. Their incessant “YEAH’s!” and “WHOO’s!” were some of the loudest I’ve ever seen at a smaller venue. I wish I would have taken a picture of them and posted it so I could warn you. The caption would be, “IF YOU SEE THIS GROUP AT A SHOW, STAND ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE VENUE!”

Yellowcard – Egyptian Room ( September 14)

Yellowcard

Photo Credit: Cole Ungethum

Another blast from the past. I was obsessed with Yellowcard right around the time Ocean Avenue came out, which was in 2003. To this day, I’m still obsessed with the album. So, when I heard that Yellowcard was doing an acoustic tour celebrating the ten year anniversary of the release, I was all over it. The show, well it was better than I imagined it. Because it was an acoustic show, it made it feel like one huge singalong. You could hear the entire crowd singing with the band, and that in itself is one of the most beautiful things to witness. The band sounded amazing, their stage presence, even in such a casual toned down way, was still beautiful. All in all, it was a night of music I’ll never forget.

These Animals – Derrick’s Living Room ( September 15)

These Animals

Last of my reviews belongs to These Animals. I spent a Sunday evening catching up with them when they stopped in town to play an intimate set. That’s right, it was extremely intimate. You should be super jealous that you weren’t there. A good friend of mine, Derrick, hosted the guys for a night, and they set up shop right in the living room of Derrick’s apartment. I don’t know about you, but I love these kinds of shows. I used to have these types of shows all the time when I was doing Shows That Matter. They allow you to connect with a band in a way you aren’t able to do when they’re playing up on a stage, behind microphones. It’s just them and their voice. Now, if you aren’t very talented, this would seem discouraging, howeverThese Animals are. It amazes me every time I see them perform that their name isn’t all over the internet. It should be. They played a relatively small set, but it was beautiful. Always love seeing these boys and can’t wait to see them again in November. Get ready Indy. They’re coming next month and playing Do317 Lounge.

That’s all. I’ll be sure keep attending shows and posting my reviews here.

Get out there and enjoy some live music.

Leave a Reply

