Flagship

23 Jul
Flagship

We put ourselves into everything we do, nothing is contrived, therefore when a large group of people is impacted by what we create, we have somewhat of a spiritual connection with them. It’s really beautiful. If I was able to feel that on a large scale every day, that would be more success than I could ever hope for.

Music can have this magical ability to enter your life and make you feel things powerfully and all at once. This incredible force can give you inspiration, comfort, or something that you didn’t even know you needed. That’s exactly what Flagship did. They came into my life unsuspectingly and I’ve only benefited from their arrival. After only listening to one song I was hooked. The pounding beat of the drums, the ethereal keening of the guitar, and the singer Drake’s haunting melodic voice that seems to go on forever, all enraptured me. They create such incredibly extraordinary music. I know this sounds like a bit of an exaggeration but it’s coming from the most sincerest of places, my heart. This incredible music must be shared and admired among others. There is a certain quality that I can’t narrow down about Flagship’s music and maybe it’s supposed to be that way. Flagship is one of those bands that has a little bit of celestial mystery to them and it only makes me want to discover more. I will cease my attempt to explain what their music makes me feel, and give you a chance to discover it for yourself. They already have an EP out titled “Blackbush” which I highly recommend and they’re coming out with a self-titled full length album on October 8th! I can’t wait to hear what they’ve made! So please, listen to them and give them a chance. Open your hearts and minds because … they just transcend. They transcend so beautifully.

Q. What does success mean to you guys? Whether it be winning awards, acknowledgment from one of your idols, or just putting your work out for the world to hear?

A. Well, I think we can define success in many different ways. We all believe that we were born to make music, so the ability to continue to make music while supporting ourselves is a basic form of success in our eyes. That being said, there are few greater feelings than having a large group of people connect with something you put your heart into. We put ourselves into everything we do, nothing is contrived, therefore when a large group of people is impacted by what we create, we have somewhat of a spiritual connection with them. It’s really beautiful. If I was able to feel that on a large scale every day, that would be more success than I could ever hope for.

Q. I feel as if your music demands to be heard. I’m not sure if that makes sense but when I first heard your music it was so intense and jarring in the best possible way that I couldn’t help but be moved. What reaction were you hoping to get from your fans?

A. Wow, that is an amazing compliment and we really appreciate it. The writing process for our music is often intense. We will get in a room together with our instruments and start jamming on something together. We sometimes push these jams so hard, that when we finally finish we are all speechless because it was literally like we got our hearts out through sound. I mentioned it earlier, but we really invest ourselves into the music we make. We really just hope that people hear it and can hear our personal investment in an audible way. The music is very real, and we hope that it helps people connect to real feelings in their lives. I love your description of your reaction to hearing our music, I would be more than happy if people responded in the same way. Jarring, intense, demanding to be heard. That’s rad.

Q. Where did the name Flagship come from? Does it hold a special meaning?

A. We always get this question, and we seem to stumble through it a bit. Drake started a band years and years ago called Flagship Brigade. We dropped the Brigade and just kept the flagship name. Sometimes we like to say that we would like to be a Flagship for our sound in the music industry, but that’s more just like a random answer we put together to sound intelligent.

Q. When you’re performing live, what are you trying to achieve throughout the show that you hope people will take with them when they leave?

A. I like to think of our concerts as somewhat of a roller coaster ride. There are ups, and downs, and usually someone throws up. Okay, that last part was a joke, but there are definitely ups and downs. We typically try to push the whole spectrum of human emotion whenever we are performing live. We will play one song that evokes excitement and joy ( I compare it to sprinting through a beautiful field during sunset, but that’s just my vision), then we will play another song that evokes feelings like a lost love or a dark point of life. Our main goal is to create and portray exactly what we feel, but if we can help people connect to a deeper emotion in their mind through our music, then we have accomplished something great. It’s truly exciting to know that you can have a major influence over someone’s mind just through making sounds and evoking thoughts and feelings.

Q. As a band, is it hard creation-wise? To share your music or lyrics together? Does it come easily or are you guys somewhat hesitant at times?

A. We have all been creating music for so long now that most self conscious hesitation has passed. We all have a mutual respect for each other, and know that if something doesn’t work out, it’s not to be taken personal. The level of personal respect really makes the creative process an extremely relaxed and enjoyable time. We are very fortunate to be able to get into a room and crank out a lot of song ideas. We really work with each other really well, so that’s exciting. We know what we need to do to make good music, so we just do it. We sort of have our own little recipe, and it has worked out so far.

Q. What kind of fan interactions have you encountered so far? What are the most memorable ones?

A. Hmm, I have to think about this one for a minute. Whenever we tour, we typically get a great response from fans. They seem to really get involved with the music during the show, even without knowing any of the music at all. It’s fantastic! There are definitely some crazy towns in this country with very interesting people. We once played a show in a random town in the Southern United States ( which I won’t name). We met a fan after the show who loved the music and invited us all out to a bar. We decided to follow her ( I was actually riding with her in the car, where she proceeded to tell me how she would like to join the band, even though I told her we weren’t looking for an extra female vocalist). Whenever we got to the bar, it was closed, and I jumped in the van with everyone. She came up to the window and told us to follow her to another bar, and she told our tour manager that if we stood her up she would punch him in the face if he ever came back. We didn’t go to the bar, so our tour manager better watch out for that southern fist.

Q. When, where and how do you come up with your songs? Is there a specific time/place you get inspired?

A. Well first and foremost we are typically way more inspired at night. Usually after 11pm or so. We play better and we write better then. There is no specific place that inspires us more than another, but I will say the more beautiful the place, the better. We spent a few weeks last summer at a cabin in the mountains of Boone, North Carolina. We wrote a good chunk of the album tracks while we were there and it was a great experience for everyone.

Q. The music business can be a harsh and unkind world. Everyone in this business faces rejection and hardships. Assuming you guys have gone through this, what helps you get through the rough times? What is your driving force? What would you tell fellow aspiring musician?

A. The music business can definitely be a nasty nasty place, but fortunately we are signed to a label that truly loves music, and believes in pushing good music to the world, so in that direct aspect of the music business, we are extremely lucky. We couldn’t ask for a better team. I think we all believe that music is a part of our nature. I believe that I was born to make music regardless of how popular it becomes. Music is literally just as natural as breathing or eating, so regardless of what’s happening on the business side, I will constantly make music in my life, and everyone in my band feels the same way. Our driving force is our deep connection to the music that we make. I am constantly driven to create, because I am more at home when I am making music than when I’m not. Any aspiring musician that’s trying to “make it” needs to remember that people constantly connect to what is real. If you have talent in what you are doing, and you are consistently creating something that is extremely real to you, people will pick up on it. When it comes to the business aspect, persistence is key. Be an honorable person and don’t step on anyone to better yourself. Success and popularity are never guaranteed, so make sure you love and have fulfillment in what you do no matter if 5 million people are listening, or if your mom and dad are the only people that bought your album. You will always want a little bit more, so if you aren’t finding fulfillment in the moment, you will never find it.

First off, I want to thank Crystal for giving me this wonderful opportunity. Lastly but definitely not least, I would like to thank Michael for graciously taking the time to answer my eagerly put together questions. I humbly thank you both very much.

Huge thank you to Lysandra for guest blogging and taking the time to interview Michael of Flagship. She introduced me to them and I’m so happy for that. Can’t stop listening to them!

Listen to Backseat off of their EP, Blackbush.

Leave a Reply

