Come On Get Happy

6 Jun

Let’s talk about new music that’s set to release soon. New music that I’ve been waiting years for. Okay, so it hasn’t exactly been years, but it sure feels like it.

Seabird

I’ve loved this band since their debut record, ‘Til We See the Shore, released in 2008. So many songs on that record made an impact on me, and since then I’ve followed their music. It’s been awhile since they’ve released anything new, but the time has finally come. Their new album is set to release in July. When I found this out, I started re-listening to all of their old stuff, preparing myself for the amazing talent I know will be all over the record. Here they’re performing one of their new songs, Love Will Be Enough.

Robert Kelly

I posted about Robert not too long ago on the site. He’s currently working his butt off to promote his Kickstarter campaign. With just over a day left to fulfill his goal of $18,000, I’m keeping my fingers crossed that music lovers will donate just a bit more ($408 to be exact). Robert’s first record, We Are Poetry, released two years ago, and ever since, I’ve been craving to hear more. My prayers have been answered because Robert’s new album is set to release soon. He just recorded a video of one of the songs that will be on the record and I cannot stop listening.

Stephen Kellogg

You might recognize that name and connect it to Stephen Kellogg and The Sixers. Well, Stephen is about to release his first solo album, and I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy. I’m not kidding when I say this: Every song on the record is incredible. Stephen Kellogg has a special knack for telling a story, and the entire album is like one long, beautiful, heartbreaking tale. Blunderstone Roockery is set to release on June 18th. To give you a taste, here’s Stephen performing one of my favorites, Thanksgiving.

I’d like to say one last thing. One thing that makes me sad about current music (particularly a lot of the top 40) is that all of the lyrics are usually about getting wasted, partying, dancing, and being promiscuous. I’m not here to judge you if you’re into these types of songs, but I do want you to know that there’s way better music out in the world. Since most of it isn’t being played on the radio, you have to search for it, but when you find it…boy, is it amazing.

Leave a Reply

