More Than Obsessed

2 May

What’s a word for an obsession that’s turned into something bigger? Over the last week, I’ve pretty much just been listening to three bands. To some people, this could become boring. To me, I can’t get enough. This obsession hasn’t left much room for any other music to absorb my time and for that, I apologize.

I can pretty much guarantee that you’ll probably have the same feelings I do towards these bands. If I had extra money laying around, I’d probably bet you on it.

The first band that has a hold on my attention is Daughter. I may have mentioned this band before. I can listen to Youth all day. Their new album “If You Leave” just came out yesterday and it’s incredible.

“And if you’re still breathing, you’re lucky ones. Cause most of us our heaving through corrupted lungs.”

If you read the line above and didn’t get an automatic boner (okay, girls can’t get those … I realize this) then you’re crazy and deserve to only listen to music from Justin Bieber or One Direction.

Next is The Neighborhoods. HOLY SHIT. I’ve been listening to this band all day. ALL DAY. Their new album “I Love You” is filled with so much genius. Sweater Weather is my favorite song. The lyrics are hot, hot, hot.

“Put my finger on your tongue cause you love the taste.”

Those lyrics definitely should have made you aroused.

Lastly, this one might surprise some of you, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis. No joke. I love this dude. He raps about stuff that matters. His big hit right now, which I’m sure most of you know, is Thriftshop, however that’s actually not my favorite one of his from his album. Can’t Hold Us has powerful lyrics, an incredible beat, and the added talent of Ray Dalton singing the chorus gives so much to the song. Plus, the video is pretty bad ass.

“Learn from that failure. Gain humility.”

I received a ton of new music submissions today which means I’ll be incorporating more music to my library over the next few days, so be sure to check back.

3 Responses to “More Than Obsessed”

  1. jovana May 2, 2013 at 3:02 am #

    Listening to The Neighborhoods right now. Love! Thanks for the recommendation! Btw, did you know Macklemore is an indie artist? Refused offers to get picked up. All his success is his own from word of mouth, and obviously, from his talent to create hard-to-resist beats and worthy lyrics. Jesse said it’s a genre–conscious rap. In any case, The Heist is one of my fave albums!

  2. Rebecca trachsel May 6, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    ‘Youth’ by Daughter is gorgeous and insanely moving. I can’t stop listening. Thx for the introduction!

  3. litmusicgirl May 6, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    I will have to check out Daughter, I have heard a lot about them lately:)

Leave a Reply

