The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

22 Jul

As you are probably well aware, I read a lot of books. With that being said, you think it would be hard to pick favorites. When I read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin, it was an instant favorite. This book was unbelievable. Short summary: Mara Dyer, a young high school girl, wakes up in a hospital with no memory of why she’s there. The last thing she remembers is being in an old abandoned building with her friends, where she came out unscathed and her friends were killed. Pretty crazy, right? Well, on top of all of that, she is moved to a new city, starts at a new school, and falls in love with the mysterious Noah Shaw. While all of this is happening, she’s continually being haunted by her dead ex-boyfriend. If this hasn’t intrigued you yet, then there is seriously something wrong with you.

I really did fall in love with this book and Michelle did such an amazing job of trapping us into this dark world and making us feel as if we were living in Mara Dyer’s mind. I created a playlist of songs I think would suit this book perfectly. Please check out the artists and also, of course, check out the book.

Belle Histoire – Nightmares

the nightmares are feeding on my skin and bones
I think I don’t see them when I’m all alone
I cry and I pray that they’ll go away
but they don’t, no they won’t

Metric – Artificial Nocturne

I’m as fucked up as they say
I can’t fake the daytime
found an entrance to escape into the dark

Dead Man’s Bones – Pa Pa Power

please make me better
we won’t destroy you no we will not destroy you

Kelli Schaefer – Black Dog

bones bleeding (if bones can bleed, sore and seething all in harmony

Memoryhouse – Old Haunts

when will we know it’s enough?

Allie Moss – Dig With Me

and I won’t lie to you love
I’m not okay
I’ve already spent too much time
hiding that
and that’s one thing that has to change

Katie Costello – Ashes Ashes

ashes, ashes we fall and float away
ashes, ashes come take my fears away

Alex Winston – Shock Me

a careless tryst
made in the dark
I locked the door
made him my mark
I promise you I will repent
just strap me down; make me forget

Lovett – The Fear

the fear that we sustain
with a thousand different names
comes from the same place
and comes for us one day

Bastille – Overjoyed

oh I feel overjoyed
when you listen to my words
I see them sinking in
oh I see them crawling underneath your skin

Andrew Belle – In My Veins (Live)

oh you’re in my veins
and I cannot get you out
oh you’re all I taste
at night inside of my mouth

One Response to “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer”

  1. Nathy January 16, 2014 at 5:05 pm #

    I loved!

Leave a Reply

