David Ramirez

17 Jan

“I’ve never done well with structure, so I think that’s what’s so attractive about this lifestyle.

In the ocean of singer-songwriters, aspiring artists often become discouraged on how to break into the sought after industry. Personally, I believe there are a few key items on how to make yourself stand out among the rest; lyrics, voice, and melody. David Ramirez is one artist who holds all three. If you’ve ever listened to David’s music, you know that each song reads like a novel into his personal life. His lyrics are a doorway into his soul. His voice is soothing and strong and can make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. His melodies are infectious, inspiring anyone within earshot to give his music a try. I recently spoke with David about his life as an artist, who inspires him, and his future in the world of music. If you haven’t yet heard David’s music, be prepared to fall in love with a genuine talent who deserves all of the success in the world.

Q. From reading your biography online, it seems as if you’ve been working towards music for most of your life. What have some of the struggles been and how have you overcome them?

A. I didn’t really start until I was 22. You grow up in the 80’s and 90’s and you get an idea of what music is all about with so much emphasis on labels and such. So, knowing that, it was hard to imagine putting my music out there, but now it’s much easier with all of the social networking.

Q. You’ve released numerous EP’s and your full-length, American Soil, was released in 2009. It seems as if you must write a new song at least everyday. Does the writing process come to you simply or is it more of a few words here and there overtime?

A. Definitely a few words here and there over time. When I first started, I didn’t know what I always wanted to say, I would be vague, or fill in the holes with what sounded good. The older I get, I care more with my words. Just taking the time to do that is a struggle, but now I work on about 5-10 songs a day.

Q. What sorts of things inspire you when it comes to writing a song?

A. I love fiction, but I’ve never been good at writing fiction. I’m very personable about my life. It’s basically a narrative of my life. If it’s a night about dancing or drinking with a crowd, I’d write about that.

Q. Many artists collaborate with other artists and create incredible songs. If you could collaborate with anyone, who would it be and why?

A. Jesus Christ. I have no idea. I collaborate with some of my friends all of the time. Nothing has ever been released though. I would love to sit down and write with The National or Modest Mouse. I think Tom Waits would be the biggest inspiration ever.

Q. If you could write a song with Tom Waits, what would you like the subject to be?

A. I’m a big fan of his commentary on the world and God. I’d like to tackle some of that stuff with him. I would like to write about how he views God and religion and stuff. I wouldn’t want to write about something with my life, but something we both connect with.

Q. In your opinion, what topic do you feel is the hardest to write about?

A. My family. I sit down all of the time and write about my family. It’s so personal. I just finished this one song where I mentioned my brother and nephew and that was really hard to get that out. That was one of the first times I’ve written about a family member.

Q. When can you fans expect to hear your new record?

A. It could come out in the summer of 2012. We are shooting for that time.

Q. Your song, Wandering Man, gives us all a bit of insight into your life. The lyrics speak of wandering the world, no place to really call home. Do you feel like touring the road is what you were born to do and is it hard to not have the same bed to lay your head in each night?

A. Hard question. In the song that I mention my brother and his son, I have this one line “Maybe I go because I’m chasing something, maybe I go because something is chasing me.” I think I just made a decision to tour the world. I’ve never done well with structure, so I think that’s what’s so attractive about this lifestyle.

Q. For someone who is contemplating on getting into the music business, what piece of advice would you give to them?

A. Be sure. Make 100% sure that this is what you want to do, because it’s going to take sacrifice and risk. There is no guarantee that people will even like you or you’re going to do well, so just be sure you’re willing to put in the work. Understand the responsibility of putting art into the world.

Q. You’re currently living in Austin, TX, home of many talented artists. Is it hard living in a city that eats, sleeps, and breathes music, or do you find it appealing being able to be surrounded by artists like yourself?

A. I love it. It’s extremely appealing. It’s nice to be present in a town where people are creating and people are pushing themselves to be better. There will be a time where I want to escape to a country and just grow older, but right now I love where I am.

Q. Do you feel as if being alone in the woods would be easier to write or is it easier for you being in a busy city with chaos all around?

A. My approach to writing has to be in a normal setting or surrounding. Sitting on a cliff in the middle of nowhere, no writing happens. For me, I have to be in very normal situations.

Q. Austin seems to bring a lot of exciting things to the table when it comes to music. What has been one of the most exciting nights you’ve played there?

A. My CD release. The Strangetown release, I played at the Parish. It was a sold out show and it was just a landmark moment. I couldn’t believe people were enjoying my work so much.

Q. With the new year approaching, what can fans expect from you?

A. I’ll start touring again throughout the Midwest. It should be about a 20 day tour. Once that’s finished we will start recording the new record. A lot of traveling and a lot of playing. The ultimate goal for 2012 would be to bring the band on the road and not be solo. I wanna play the music like it is on the records.

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. I have a favorite, but I wouldn’t want to listen to it for the rest of my life. It’s heartbreaking. I would probably do, “Argue With Heaven” to remind me that even though on this island, I could still live life to the fullest capacity.

Here is “Carry Me Like the Wind” live from The Cactus. Enjoy the beautiful tune.

Leave a Reply

