Kris Orlowski

4 Dec

*Photo taken by Andria Lindquist

There’s one word that comes to mind when I listen to Kris Orlowski’s music; refreshing. His overall sound, the talent that seeps out of his pores, it’s beyond anything you might hear on the radio these days. Basically, there aren’t enough words in the dictionary for the way that Kris’ lyrics strike me. His newest EP, Warsaw, is a masterpiece, and it’s only four songs. It hasn’t been long since I’ve discovered Kris’ music, but each time I listen, it brings something new to the table. If you’re seeking out a new voice to listen to, look no further. Kris Orlowski and his bandmates, Scott Schrock Jr., Aaron O’Neil, Torry Anderson, and Mark Isakson are a great bunch of musicians who all share a passion for music. Most interviews on Sounds That Matter are conducted via phone or e-mail, but this time, I’ve decided to spice things up a bit and have Kris and his band answer my questions via video. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to be there in person because by the looks of it, Kris and his bandmates had a fantastic time answering my questions. I hope you enjoy the interview and be sure to check out more by Kris Orlowski.

Q. Tell me a bit about how you got your start in music and how your band came together.

Q. Your album, Happiness Is Waiting, is said to be for people who have had their heart broken, going through hard times. What was your motivation behind writing that album?

Q. Did the album help you through your own personal heartbreak?

Q. When writing music, what are a few of the things that inspire you to write and what is the most important thing when writing?

Q. If you had to describe your music in just one sentence, what would it be?

Q. Some of your influences are The Beatles, Sufjan Stevens, and Simon & Garfunkel. Who would you say influences you the most?

Q. What would you say has been your biggest success thus far?

Q. If you were stranded on an island and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which would it be and why?

Just for fun, the guys decided to ask me a few questions.

Kris, no, I’m not single. I prefer boxer-briefs on men and I’m totally a dog person. As for the last question, you may hate me for this, but I’ve never seen Airheads. The reason I know that the question is from the movie is because it’s constantly quoted among friends. As you can see, this is why I’m better at asking the questions.

Here is, Way You Are, a song that melts my heart.

Leave a Reply

