Matt Hires

20 Oct

Matt Hires has an incredible way of making you forget all of your worries while listening to his music. From Tampa, Florida, he released his album, Take Us to the Start, in 2009 and has been on an endless journey of success since. Matt took a few minutes out of his schedule to take part in the Short & Sweet Questionnaire. Read a few fun facts about the the artist who has everyone singing his lyrics.

The song I’d love to cover is: Well, one of my favorite songs to cover is “(I Don’t Want To) Hang Up My Rock & Roll Shoes”. But I think I would like to try to cover “Losers” by The Belle Brigade.

Today’s music doesn’t have enough banjo.

One of the things that connects me to a song is melody and lyrics, but mostly melody. If a song has a great melody, then I’m all in.  And it doesn’t have to be a big, over the top, pop melody, but just something that really pulls you into it.

One of the most exciting things about being on stage is being able to do what I love to do and (hopefully) having it move people. If the audience is having a good time, then I’m having a good time.

If I could better myself at one thing, musically, it would be to learn to play the banjo.

Here is Matt performing one of my favorites, Honey Let Me Sing You A Song, off of his debut album.

Leave a Reply

