Shelly Fraley

4 Oct

“As far as my sound, I think that will always change, but as long as it’s mine, and not something I’m trying to copy or emulate, I’m happy with that.”

Following your heart and doing exactly what you love is something not all of us get to experience in life. Sometimes, we all get so comfortable in our lives, working the same job, doing the same thing each day, we just don’t have the motivation to change our paths. For Shelly Fraley, she chose to do the exact opposite. She moved to Nashville with one single dream; to fulfill her destiny as a singer-songwriter. After her first year in the big city, she was able to find herself in her music and create what she had always hoped for. Fast forward to the present, Shelly Fraley has toured the world, has had her music featured on multiple TV shows, and has opened for many other talents in the industry. Her eagerly awaited new album, Hush (Part 1) has just been released exclusively online to a few lucky fans, Shelly is also keeping busy playing shows all throughout the US. Here is my interview with the gifted girl who is bound to become a major success.

Q. In your bio, you mention moving to Nashville to pursue your career in music. Was there something that made you choose Nashville over other popular music driven cities such as Austin, L.A., or NYC?

A. Mostly instinct. To be honest, I wasn’t sure WHY Nashville… I just felt like it was the right place for me to be for some reason. Most people don’t really think of Nashville when they think of pop music, and neither did I, but I’ve discovered many, many indie pop artists living and thriving here. I’m glad now that I followed my gut!  

Q. Do you have a particular song writing process or do the words and music just come to you?

A. I don’t really have a process, usually when I write it’s because I feel inspired and the lyrics and music come out at the same time. 

Q. Your stop action video for “Uh Oh, I’m Fallin’” is adorable, and obviously pretty artsy. Do you garner a lot of inspiration for your music and videos from your art background?

A. Ha, well I’m not sure. My mom says I used to save cardboard boxes and other trash from being thrown away to use for art projects when I was little. So, I guess some things about the way our brains work never change. I have a little bit of background with animation from my graphic design days, so that helped out too.

Q. What was your “ah-ha!” moment, when you finally found your sound and decided to start back into your music?

A. I was writing the song “Up Up and Away” and I just remembered that I love to make music. It had been a long time since I had written anything that I liked. As far as my sound, I think that will always change, but as long as it’s mine, and not something I’m trying to copy or emulate, I’m happy with that.

Q. Did you find the process of recording your album or marketing it more difficult?

A. MARKETING! I love to record and I love to write, but talking myself up is a whole other story!

Q. How did you come up with the concept of fans sending in their secrets for your upcoming album, “Hush (Part 1)”?

A. I was actually doing a co-write, which is pretty rare for me. We were trying to come up with a concept for a song to write, so I threw out an idea that was based around a secret that I had read in a book of secrets. Ironically, the guy I wrote that song with is now producing the secrets album I’m releasing in October called “Hush.” 

Q. It looks like you’ve done quite a bit of touring in the past couple of years. How different was touring the UK than touring at home in the states?

A. I love to travel and see new things. It was exciting to be in another country with so much history, surrounded by people with a different culture than me. There was a great amount of appreciation in all of the venues we played. Don’t get me wrong, I have found that same appreciation in the states as well, just not as commonly as over there.

Q. Did you find growing up in a small town to be any influence on your songwriting?

A. Honestly, not really. I grew up around a lot of country music, but it just wasn’t in my blood to write country, I guess!

Q. Do you find that your music spreads faster through word of mouth and exposure on popular tv shows, or through social media?

A. I think it starts with TV placements, which generate word of mouth and hits on my social media websites.

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. Ha ha, oh boy. Hmmm, probably one of the new songs that I haven’t played a million times! I wrote a song called “Crush” that will be on the “Hush (part 1)” album and it’s pretty upbeat. It would make me want to dance, even though I’m terrible at it.

Here’s, Uh Oh, I’m Fallin’, off of her album “Into The Sun.” Be prepared for cuteness-overload.

Leave a Reply

