The Last Royals

29 Sep

“Music is not about power.”

Eric James and Mason Ingram are the two talents that make up The Last Royals. Currently residing in New York, the two have been working hard to release new music, gaining exposure from all parts of the country. Their self-titled EP has been on constant replay in my car and home, especially the song Crystal Vases. If you’d like to learn a bit more about the duo, read my interview with singer, Eric.

Q. How did the two of you meet to form The Last Royals?

A. We met while recording a compilation in Brooklyn with several songwriters. Mason was the drummer on the project and understood where I was headed with this rock and roll music. I was a lonely laptop kid with a dream at the time. Now I have it all figured out.

Q. You describe your music as, “Urban walking music.” For someone who isn’t familiar with your music, how would you tell them about the music you create?

A. I would start with the phrase ‘urban walking music’, pause and then explain that it’s for people in the suburbs too. I hope that teenagers play this music while they’re driving their dad’s convertibles on Friday.

Q. You’re currently living in New York, where a ton of people move to pursue their dreams, do you feel as if the city has helped you succeed or is it harder to get exposure since there is an over-saturation of musical talent?

A. Good question. I know people who have tennis rackets and white shoes and play tennis a few Saturdays a month, but that doesn’t make them tennis players. New York tends to push artists to the point where they have to determine how bad they want it. In my mind, if you are still here, doing art, after you’ve tackled that issue, you’re successful. So, by my own logic, I’m a smashing success, clearly.

Q. Some of your musical influences are The Cars, Wilco, and Bob Dylan. If you could choose between the three, who would you say has the biggest impact on your music?

A. Definitely Dylan. He’s an alien. If you know me well, you can tell how my day is going depending on which of his albums is playing.

Q. Covering someone else’s song has always been a popular way to get noticed (ex. YouTube). Do you guys have a favorite song that you like to cover at your shows?

A. We covered Prince’s ‘Nothing Compares 2 U’ last week at a show. We all thought it went great and then heard from a powerful label person who was at the show that we should never do that again. Like I said, smashing success.

Q. You recently released your self-titled EP. What was one of the best memories you had while in the recording process?

A. My favorite moment was recording the alternate version of ‘Backseat Lovers’. I wanted to make a home music video and the song was just an afterthought. It was all recorded in about 10 minutes. Felt great.

Q. In your opinion, do you feel like the females in music are overpowering the males? For example, Adele and Beyonce are two of the most powerful voices in the business right now.

A. Doesn’t matter to me. Music is not about power.

Q. If you could go back and re-record one of your songs, which one would it be and why?

A. I actually was never fully happy with the version of Crystal Vases that is out there sweeping the nation. There was a guitar solo that I recorded about 70 times that never made it in. I’m not great at guitar solos.

Q. What is your favorite song to close a show with?

A. We like to close with a song called ‘Friday’ usually. It’s a dance song that always gets people moving. Even those who are wearing khakis.

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. Oh gosh, I think I have a silent track somewhere on an old EP.

I’ve presented the video on the site before, but I just can’t get enough of this song. Here is the lyrical video for Crystal Vases.

Leave a Reply

