Audrey and the Deer

27 Sep


“Even at the crappiest shows, you truly never know who is sitting in the back, so play every show like it’s the biggest most important gig of your life!”

If you’re a huge music nerd, like me, then you know exactly what I mean when I talk about the way a voice can give you chills all over your body, or the way a song can make you feel as if you’re sitting atop a rainbow and you have no worries in the world. When I first came across the talented Mariana Machain, I was so excited to get onto the internet and find every song by this truly incredible talent. Originally from Australia, Mariana is now living in California, working hard to become a success story. I recently interviewed her and learned that no matter just how talented we think she is, she’s constantly working harder on her skill which, in turn, makes it that much easier for her fans to fall in love with her.

Q. How did you get your start in music? Was it something you aspired to do all of your life?

A. Oh gosh no! It all started with an open mic night in Santa Ana, meeting the right people who we’re able to support me and give me a little kick in the butt! I wasn’t the most confident musician! I just thought everyone loved music as much as me so I never really considered it something that I was special enough to do, you know? But I guess it has finally sunk in that it is one of the most important things to me, so now I pursue it. 

Q. What is the meaning behind your band name and how did you come up with it?

A. I love Audrey Hepburn. As a kid I thought she was the epitome of perfection, and when I became a vegetarian in 2004 I was…let’s say persuaded by an incident with a deer…so, one day I was doing my geeky thing and researched Audrey Hepburn and found a series of portraits of her and a deer. Which I later found out, the deer was orphaned so Audrey took it in and cared for it, it followed her everywhere she went! I love the idea of the wild beast and the idea of perfection living in such harmony. Perfect!

Q. You’re the solo member of your band. While playing shows/on tour, do you have other core members?

A. Yeah, every so often depending on the venue I have a group of friends join me on stage. The vibe is always so different, when I play on my own show it’s a different show. I think I allow myself to be a little vulnerable (which is super cheesey to say) and the audience connects more. With the band its more fun and I want some foot stompin’ to happen in the crowd.

Q. What are some of the things in your life that inspire you to write your music?

A. I can’t escape the fact I tend to write a lot about relationships with people. Well, obviously matters of the heart, I can’t hide it. When I write it’s my way of trying to make sense of something I feel or me struggling with moments of not understanding another persons heart or actions. Not just a love kind of story, but just the relationships I see around me, or have lived vicariously through. I usually write songs when I am trying to figure out a feeling I am having, it’s only until I have written about it that I can try and get over it. It’s through music I can be blunt and honest with myself.

Q. You’re currently living in Costa Mesa, CA. What is the music scene like there and in your opinion, what are some of the best things the city has to offer in terms of music?

A. Well, I actually just moved to Long Beach which has been an incredible move! There is just a crazy amount of creative young energy here! I am originally from Australia, then Costa Mesa was home for about two years and the beginning of my music career. It’s such a great community to collaborate with people, it was small enough that you really get to know the music community well here. I was lucky to be surrounded by such creative people, that really support each other.

Q. Many artists have that one song they’d like to go back and re-record, maybe change a few things. If you had the opportunity to do so, what song would you re-record and why?

A. Oh man! All of them! I think as a musician you should never think you have reached perfection, you know? I constantly want to be striving to get better, so I would definitely want to re-record all of them, maybe in an actual studio and not at 4 A.M. because that is when the space was the most quiet!

Q. If you had the opportunity of knowing something you now know, back when you first began playing music, what would that be?

A. I am still learning so much, but something I have learned recently is that even at the crappiest shows, you truly never know who is sitting in the back, so play every show like it’s the biggest most important gig of your life!

Q. Describe your dream show, visually and musically.

A. Dream show…I think for me more than the aesthetic or the venue, my dream show would be about who I got to play with. If I could play a show with the people I look up to musically like, Nathaniel Rateliff, Tallest Man on Earth, Fiona Apple and Jack White (to name a few) I would be in a dream!

Q. Your debut self-titled EP is composed of five really amazing tracks. During the recording process, what was one of the most memorable times?

A. You know the recording process was just me and my friend Anthony in a small little room, at 4 A.M. I think being able to work with a friend, the conversations we had in there were really important to push me to really commit and believe that maybe I could really pursue music. ( I am still a newbie to all this.)

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. I am hoping this island has a crazy mystery like in LOST, so I would be too busy to sit back and listen to anything.

Here is a video of two beautiful songs, Catch 22 & This Fear. To hear more music from Audrey & the Deer, click on the picture above.

Leave a Reply

