Greg Holden

18 Sep

“Without faith in what you do, there is no point in doing it, you’re bound to fail.”

When you grow up loving music and realize that it’s the only thing you want to do in life, you do everything possible to make that happen. Greg Holden uprooted his entire life, moving from London to New York City, on a quest to fulfill his dreams. Over the years, Greg Holden has opened up for Ingrid Michaelson, has had songs featured all over hit TV shows, and has traveled the world, showcasing his music to many ears. His newest album, I Don’t Believe You, was made possible by fans of Greg, donating over $30,000 just for the artist to be able to continue on this journey of having his music heard. I recently got to interview Greg and learned much more about this singer/songwriter who has achieved so much, yet still have a list full of things he’d like to accomplish.

Q. How did you get started singing and performing and what made you want to make this your career?

A. I started after listening to a few Bob Dylan albums a friend gave to me when I was younger. It instantly hit me that there was an outlet for all my frustration. So, I learned guitar and just started singing along to CD’s. Eventually I realized I was OK at it. That was really the first time I’d done anything musical. I was 18. A late bloomer you could say.

Q. Your music is extremely honest and personal. What things in life inspire you to write such songs?

A. Thank you. Well, things that hurt me or anger me are usually the things I choose to write about the most. Or at least that’s when I get the best results. There’s something about anger in music that really inspires me, I think that’s why I became a songwriter. It took me a while to figure out what I wanted to say, but I think I’ve got it now.

Q. Out of your family members or friends, who would you say is the most motivating when it comes to pushing you in your career?

A. I’d say both my friends and family are as supportive as each other when it comes to my music career. I am very lucky.

Q. Your most recent album, I Don’t Believe You, was funded by fans via Kickstarter. What was it like seeing your fans dedicate their time and their own money to helping you in your dream?

A. Incredible. I was utterly blown away by the response on Kickstarter. The fact that people were willing to give me their money for something that hadn’t even been created yet, shows how much faith they had in not only my music, but in music and art in general. That was the ultimate compliment. It’s a shame not everybody shares that same need to pay for music, but it’s certainly promising. My album wasn’t 100% paid for by Kickstarter, but it covered over half of the costs, which is just phenomenal. Kickstarter and all the other sites doing that now are going to change the world. They’re amazing.

Q. You’ve been featured on iTunes “Best Singer/Songwriters” charts, had your music appear on various TV shows, and have had the opportunity to tour the world. Did you ever imagine in your wildest dreams that any of that could be possible?

A. Yes. Without faith in what you do, there is no point in doing it, you’re bound to fail.

Q. If you could go back in time and change just one thing that’s happened so far in your career, what would it be and why?

A. I think I would change the part where I wrote “My Way Of Thinking” from my first album. I hate that song. Ha! In all seriousness, I don’t think I’d change a thing. It’s been a roller-coaster of ups and downs, but I’ve loved every minute of it.

Q. You’re currently living in New York, which is home to so many talented artists. Who are a few of your favorite that many people may not have heard of just yet?

A. Too many to name them all, but here are a few: Ian Axel, Katie Costello, Allie Moss, Lucius, Jeff Taylor, Nate Campany, Elizabeth & The Catapult, Blake Mills and Lucy Schwartz.

Q. If you had to describe your music in three words, what would they be?

A. Totally Over Rated.

Q. If there was one piece of advice you could share with fellow musicians, what would it be?

A. If you’re in it for the money, put down your guitar and become a lawyer, or doctor or something. If you’re not, then you’ve got the right attitude, but are destined for a life of couch-surfing, red-eye flights (economy), constant money-juggling & dealing with the heartbreak of false promises. BUT, you’ll be your own boss and be able to sleep in and that’s always nice. In all seriousness, I’m serious.

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. I don’t think that I’d listen to my own songs if I was stranded on a desert island to be honest. I’d probably listen to “It’ll All Work Out” by Blake Mills though…

Here is Greg’s newest video, Bar On A. It’s such a beautifully honest song I just know you’ll enjoy.

Leave a Reply

