Caleb Groh

30 Aug

“Music has such a prominence in the world for a reason. There’s not much I believe in, but I believe in songwriting.”

Formerly under the moniker “The Happiest Lion” artist Caleb Groh has had a busy summer working on music for a new project he is involved in. Born in California, Caleb is now living in Boston and has been seen working on more than just his music (peeking around his Facebook page, I found that he creates these adorable tiny animals…cue the “aww.”) Apart from his talent at handcrafting miniature stuffed animals, Caleb is a growing talent and I look forward to hearing his new release later this year. Here is my interview with the young, but incredibly talented Caleb Groh.

Q. How did you get your start in music?

A. When I was about 9, I sort of jokingly implied to my parents that I would ask for a guitar for my birthday. Well, here I am.

Q. What is it about music that inspires you to continue your try in the industry?

A. Everything. Music has such a prominence in the world for a reason. There’s not much I believe in, but I believe in songwriting.

Q. Who are some of the artists that influence you to become better at your craft?

A. Hmm. I think everyone/everything is a catalyst. Good music makes me want to make good music, and bad music makes me want to make good music.

Q. If you could change one thing about the music industry, what would it be and why?

A. I don’t know anything about the “industry”, and I realize I’ll probably never be involved in it, unless the industry comprises everything I do on my own. Here’s what I think: If I could change one thing about the music industry, I’d change the fact that it exists at all. Also, if it were in my hands to change any one thing about the music industry, I’d have a hell of a lot of power and would probably be expending it elsewhere!

Q. When you think about your life, what things come to mind that has inspired a song?

A. Hopefully this isn’t too vague: Love, growth, and imagination.

Q. Your album, Mammoth Moon, released last year and has received some excellent reviews. What was the most memorable things about recording that album?

A. Mammoth Moon was recorded over the course of several months, maybe a year. That record had no structure as far as recording went. I do, however, associate it with the house I was living in that year. Most of it was recorded on the third floor of that house, which was bitter in the winter and sweltry in the summer. It was perfect.

Q. Who in your opinion are a few of the most under rated artists around today?

A. My friend Chad (who mixes/masters the songs) and I are really into The Deep Vibration and Postcard by Nathan Phillips these days.

Q. If you had the opportunity to open for any artist, who would it be and why?

A. Bob Dylan – because Stuck Inside of Mobile saves the day every time.

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life, and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. Oh, I definitely couldn’t bring a song, I wouldn’t have any use for it. It’s singing the song which matters, you know? Plus, who wants a single song swimming in their head for a day, let alone a lifetime?

Here is a track from Mammoth Moon titled, “Marigold, Love is a Lie.”

Leave a Reply

