Emma Louise

19 Aug

“I’d love to play to a room full of strangers who speak a different language but still want to hear my music.”

A hidden gem all the way from Australia with a voice that can mend broken hearts. Emma Louise is the kind of artist people seek out, find her music, and fall completely in love with it. With her most recent release, Full Hearts and Empty Rooms, Emma displays her incredible talent that is full of promise. Recently, Emma Louise answered some of my questions and I learned more about the girl behind the stunning voice.

Q. How did you get your start as a songtress? Was music always something that consumed your home while growing up?

A. I started writing songs when I was 12 after failing at playing covers. My family isn’t musical at all but they were always very supportive and made me sing for them a lot.

Q. Your debut release, Full Hearts and Empty Rooms, has received many positive reviews. What has been one of the compliments that stick out in your mind?

A. I love it when people say they relate to my songs or that they have influenced them in some way. It’s pretty cool to write a song so honestly and have people receive it just as honestly.

Q. In your opinion, what is the definition of a true artist?

A. I don’t know really. I guess if you’re true to your art, you’re a true artist. I can’t judge what a good artist is.

Q. You’ve opened for artists such as Lissie and Boy and Bear. Who else would you like to share the stage with someday?

A. Missy Higgins. She is my number one role model and made me want to be a musician professionally.

Q. Currently, you’re doing your own tour. What can fans expect to see at one of your live shows?

A. Yes! Pretty exciting! I have lots of songs people haven’t heard yet and I can’t wait to share them.

Q. Lots of artists doing world tours in the summer. Are there any artists you’re hoping to see?

A. Sufjan Stevens, Jose Gonzalez, Emiliana Torini, Ane Brun. I’d love to see them live.

Q. Many musicians tend to make friends with others just like them. In your circle of friends, is there a lot of support being thrown around, rooting for each other to succeed?

A. Definitely. I have a group of friends that are musicians and we all support each other and are happy when good things happen. I hope to be playing festivals with them!

Q. You’re still very young in your career. What are some of the other dreams you hope to achieve in the coming years?

A. I’d love to go overseas. I haven’t done that yet. I’d love to play to a room full of strangers who speak a different language but still want to hear my music.

Q. This September, you’re going on tour with Josh Pyke. Is there a city you’re looking forward to playing?

A. Brisbane! I love playing in Brisbane because it’s my home. I am very excited about playing all the shows though.

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. Probably my newest one so that it’d take longer to get sick of before I go crazy and kill myself Haha.

Here is Emma’s video for “Jungle” off of her latest EP.

Leave a Reply

