Laura Jansen CD Giveaway

19 Jul

The incredibly talented Laura Jansen has completely won me over with her amazing voice, contagious upbeat personality, and lyrics that hit so close to home. I first saw her live, opening for Joshua Radin, and it was unlike any other opening act I’ve ever seen. Completely taking the entire audience by storm, Laura sat there behind her piano and played her heart out for Indianapolis. After having the opportunity of meeting her that night, I knew that she was a female artist that will stand out above the rest.

Her recent album, Bells, has been described as eloquent, deeply personal, and poignantly written. If you haven’t picked up the album just yet, you’ve come to the right place. Laura Jansen has signed her CD and you have the opportunity to win it by answering just one question.

Which one of Laura’s songs has gotten you through a tough time and why that song?

Leave your answer in the comment section below along with your contact information. On July 25, I will pick a contestant at random and contact the winner via e-mail.

Best of luck!

35 Responses to “Laura Jansen CD Giveaway”

  1. Jasper July 19, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Hallo Laura Jansen,

    Ik zou graag deze cd winnen! Dit is mijn adres:
    Zaagmolenweg 12
    7204 HJ Zutphen
    +31 (0575) 526725

    Veel kusjes van Jasper Blaauw

  2. Paul Dizy July 19, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    Well, Use somebody was awesome and wicked world was very surprising but I was always mesmerised by her unique voice. But the song that really got to me is a song, which is not on this album unfortunately, is a cover from Level 42, called Something About You… And why?? I’ve been a huge fan of L42 since 1982 and I was really surprised to hear a cover of one of their greatest songs ever. When I heard this duet on the radio, I was driving my car, singing along very loud with goosebumps allover and tears rolling over my face… At that moment I didn’t know who the singers were but I knew this female voice…. It’s Laura…….

  3. Bram July 19, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Single Girls got me through a tough time as I’m sure it will have many others like me.

    The song starts with that beautiful piano-solo and ends with that one line that sums it all up: “This time, I’ll be fine”. It hit me.

    As anybody will know, ending a long relationship is often very, very hard. It always had for me and this time it was a LOOOONGGGG relationship: 7 years. Was it the 7 year itch? I don’t know. Anyway: I already knew what was coming, lurking around that corner. Or actually: me sitting in that corner, heartbroken, waiting forit to go away. But that just wasn’t an option for me this time.

    That’s why I grabbed the bull by the horns and started to plan lots of fun things to do and get my life back on track. It was quite hard undertaking things all by my self in the beginning, but it turned out (and still does) to be the best thing that happened to me. I renewed my relationship with old friends and met a bunch of really great (maybe even the best) new friends doing so. And above all: I found my perseverance for the first time. Was this my (unintentional?) last gift I got from my ex?

    It’s never easy, breaking up, but this time I knew it was different, I knew I could handle it, get myself in charge of my feelings and start anew. I CHOSE to not sit down and feel sorry for myself. It sounds strange, but I actually CHOSE to not be sad, but instead enjoy life, the little things, like enjoying the marvelous view of the winter wonderland in the Netherlands during the traffic jams around Christmas (finally a white Christmas in NL), do fun things, meet new people and just BE HAPPY.

    The details of the song differ obviously, but the feeling I felt during that time is perfectly expressed in that one single line: “This time, I’ll be fine.”

    The funny thing is, I decided to post this story to the Dutch radio-show RabRadio for their topic: “De regel die je raakt” (The line that hits you) in November 2010. It actually aired on November 23, but the fun thing is: the exact moment I hit Send, guess what song started playing on 3FM? Yep…..

    Coincidence? Maybe, but I got that warm, fuzzy feeling again. I knew I would be fine indeed, and I still am. Obviously I had to go see Laura Jansen in 013, Tilburg when she performed there, together with my best friend I met on one of my new hobbies: Salsa-dancing.

  4. Linda July 19, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    Laura Jansen her cover of ‘Use somebody’ from The Kings of Leon was and is a really special one for me.

    When my aunt died last year, the last time before I saw her, this song was played on the radio. My aunt really liked Laura Jansen her songs and voice too. And on my way to the funeral, this song was played again on the radio, how is that possible?!
    And everytime I hear or play this song on the piano, I think about my aunt and it gives me the feeling that I’m a bit closer to her. (it sounds weird, but it really helped me a lot not to miss her too much.)

    The days after you’ve lost someone you care about are horrible, I could really use somebody.

  5. Ashlee July 19, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    This is such a sweet giveaway! I adore Laura Jansen! I found her on myspace years ago. The first song I ever heard by her was Single Girls. It’s pretty much been my personal theme song. The first time I heard out was when I was saying goodbye to a really close guy friends of mine who was moving out of the country. It was one of those songs I put on repeat as I grieved what ended up being the loss of my friendship.

  6. Christian July 21, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    Christian K.

    Germany

    Thierry321@gmx.de

  7. peters July 23, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    I really love the whole album!

  8. Ducky July 25, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    Well, it has not litteraly gotten me through hard times… but helps me though.

    And the one I pick is Perfect.

    First I got a crush on it because I “enter” a song by the music and the rythm, the voice also but not the lyrics directly. And I love all these little things that happen when the rythm changes in this song (even a little bit).

    And then the lyrics, and that is why it matches the theme of the question. I sometimes imagine that she can talk to me, advising me to play it lighter…

    Here you go!

  9. molly finn July 25, 2011 at 2:05 am #

    Single Girls–it’s gotten me through lonely times when I’ve been missing and longing to be with a guy that I just know is not right for me.

  10. Craig July 25, 2011 at 2:12 am #

    IabsolutelyloveLaura’svoiceadherpianosolo

  11. alex soontiens July 25, 2011 at 2:14 am #

    Just fell in love with your voice!!
    Went to see your concert @013 in Tilburg in april!
    It was just perfect, really the perfect night!

  12. Jeff Garlick July 25, 2011 at 2:55 am #

    I’m new to Laura’s music which I discovered through Sara Bareilles but I have to say that the most emotional song for me is “Use Somebody”! Before hearing her version, I always just skipped past the Kings Of Leon when it came on the radio but with Laura’s version, it takes on DEEPER meaning and a lovely desperation that I can relate to.

    I have no sad story to tell just a new artist that I grow to love more every time I hear “Bells”! 🙂

  13. Douglas July 25, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    I guess my song of choice would be “The End”, because all good things must come to an end someday. Unfortunately.

    Thanks for this great giveaway. Laura is such a talented artist. I’m lucky to have discovered her music.

  14. Tina July 25, 2011 at 3:51 am #

    About a year ago, I confessed to my best friend that I fell in love with him. He told me he felt the same way. Everyone saw it coming: we were close, we flirted, we acted like we were already dating. And it should’ve been a happy ending but it wasn’t. He told me that he thought I was too busy and had all these great things going for me that he didn’t want to get in the way of that. Afterwards, we stopped talking like we used to, we stopped hanging out, and somehow, we both changed. “Single Girls” got me through that phase of my life. Even today when I sometimes think of him, I listen to that song and I feel a little less alone.

  15. dave July 25, 2011 at 6:49 am #

    Though not being a girl, single girls got me. The beautiness and simpleness is so recognizable.

  16. Veronica July 25, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Single Girls, for sure.

  17. Lourens Albeda July 25, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    Use somebody, makes you realise your notthe only one in need every now and than.

  18. Reagan July 25, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    I think the Laura Jensen song that has got me through the most is “Perfect.” It reminds me that I am, indeed, what I am suppose to be. When others are constantly trying to change me, I have to keep going and remember that I am myself, and I shouldn’t try to be anyone else.

  19. Bruce Tenenbaum July 25, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Listening to “Use Somebody” – I love the tender vocals and beautiful lyrics. Bruce.

  20. Tawsha July 25, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Single girls was the song that touched me the most. I am a single girl. I never had a boyfriend, well I almost had one but it didn’t work out. I would love to have a boyfriend and everybody of my friends has a boyfriend or had one before. Some of them asked me if I’m lesbian but I’m not. I’m normal and I’m not a bad person I think ^^ It’s just that I didn’t met the right guy before.. So everytime I feel alone and think of how it would be to have a boyfriend I listen to Single Girls and I’m happy that I’m not in trouble with that boy stuff 🙂

  21. Maan Bentlage July 25, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Use somebody from Laura Jansen is a song I always like to play when I feel alone. The song describes a yell to the world that you need somebody! The song doesn’t make me 100% happy but it does give a shoulder, a shoulder you can hang on to.

    Maan Bentlage
    Kroeskarperlaan 58
    2215XP Voorhout
    The Netherlands
    0629514205 (mobile number)

  22. Michael Cortez July 25, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Bells always gets to me, just the innocence of it brings me back to the younger days 🙂

  23. Juliette July 25, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    The title “the end” is for me such a wonderful song. It helps me through sad days, when I remember moments of my life, the souvenirs that built me and made who I am today.

    I’m glad I discovered your album, thanks to a german friend of mine.

    Amitiés from France!!

    Juliette

  24. Vaughan Phillips July 25, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    My song choice would have to be “Use Somebody” – I discovered the Armin remix on “A State of Trance 2011” and loved it instantly. I then looked up the original version – I must have listened to it about 5 times in a row. It made me cry immediately, right there in the studio during office hours.

    It warms my heart to know that my “somebody” is out there somewhere, just gotta be patient! Thank you for the amazing inspirational music!

    Regards,
    Vaughan

  25. Rafaela July 25, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Single Girls is my song. No one had ever written such a beautiful song that means so much to me. I’ve been a single girl for whole my life, and that’s 20 years. I’m not ashamed of myself and I know I’m not the only one in this position. Thank you Laura.

  26. Miquel July 25, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Lucky for me no touch times for me at the moment. I’ve had my share in the past. Your songs do help me enjoy the good times I’m having right now even better.

    I love the stories you tell in your songs and you explaining them in Rotown a couple of years ago.

    The song that touched me most was when you played “Pretty me” in the Watt last year.

    Please keep doing what you are doing. You are amazing.

  27. Marie July 25, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    The song “Perfect” always helps me when I am feeling down, just because of the lyrics, the beautiful melody and of course the incredible voice of Laura..

  28. metha July 25, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    I love ‘single girl’.
    I love opening intro of that song, and the lyrics just like a best friend, a strong women, told me that evrythng’s gonna be ok, c’est la vie.

  29. momochan July 25, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    To me, it’s “Come to me”. When I heard it for the 1st time, I thought that I just had smelled sth like winter:D i know it may sound so strange but it’s the truth.It gave me the feeling of calm,lucid seasons, sometimes also reminded me of my home in the countryside.Maybe all these funny thought were because of the melody of the song.I dont know but someone has told me that: Dont try to get the meaning of art,just care about what it really means to you.That’s the only way it exists.Maybe that’s the way this song came into my heart:D

    Thanks so much for the giveaways:D. I’ll support you as always.Go on girl !!!

  30. Adelina July 25, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    “Single Girls” was my best friend when i felt lonely. It was a period of time when the boy i love was dating with another girl and he seemed happy. Then i felt more lonely than never. In that moments, i used to listen Laura’s song. The verse “I’m so damn busy after all” made me stronger and made me see the real things of my life, the things that matter. The end of the song – “This time i’ll be fine”- made me understand that i’ll survive and everything will be allright.

    After that period, i started listening “Wicked World” and i thought: “From now on, i’ll be a bad girl and i’ll have fun as much as i can”.

  31. jessica mertz July 25, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    I broke up with my boyfriend and it was pretty messy i was so sad. I couldnt get out of bed. Then i put it on the music video channel and found single girls. Just about everything you sang was what i was going through. I think ur amazing and very talented. Thank you so much for singing it.

  32. Laura enninga July 25, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Als ik zin heb in nieuwe muziek,ga ik naar een platenzaak en selecteer ik eerst cd’s op de voorkant. Dan ga ik een aantal beluisteren. Zo stuitte ik ook op laura jansen. Niet alleen omdat we dezelfde naam hebben,maar ik vond de hoes super!toen ik de bijbehorende stem hoorde was ik verkocht!ontzettend mooi!
    net als bij velen spreekt single girls mij aan,ik ben zelf ook een single girl 🙂 daarnaast vind ik come to me erg mooi. Maar het nummer wat het meeste met me doet is toch wel signal. Dit is het nummer dat me diep raakt en veel gevoelens bij me losmaakt. De ene keer geeft het me kracht en het andere moment moet ik er heel hard van huilen. Geweldig stemgeluid en erg mooie muziek erbij, wat het plaatje compleet maakt. Zo vol gezongen,vanuit de tenen en met heel veel gevoel. Een top album! Ik heb de digipack versie en zou graag deze cd winnen,als aanvulling op mijn muziek collectie! Verder wil ik je heel veel succes wensen en ik kan niet wachten tot een volgend album!
    liefs, laura 🙂

  33. M vd Kerkhof July 25, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    Hoi Laura,

    Ik ben niet zo’n concertganger, maar sommige artiesten wil ik gewoon echt een keer live meemaken. U2, Michael Jackson en ik heb je onlangs in 013 meegemaakt. Dat je mooi kon zingen en mooie liedjes hebt, wist ik al. Toen je live recht m’n hart binnen kwam, wist ik dat ik er goed aan heb gedaan je live te zien.

    In ieder geval heel veel succes en ik blijf je volgen.

    Gr. Marijn

  34. William van mook July 25, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    Het nummer wat het meeste indruk op mij heeft gemaakt van Laura is use somebody.
    Dit nummer is gedraaid op de begrafenis van mijn vriendin aangezien zij veel kracht uit dit nummer haalde in de laatste maanden van haar leven.
    Desondanks heeft de leukemie toch gewonnen.

    Het zou voor mij een eer zijn om een gesigneerd exemplaar van je cd te winnen. Mocht ik namelijk een emotioneel moment hebben dan kan ik je cd aanzetten en kan ik daaruit weer kracht trekken om verder te gaan.

    Groetjes,
    William

  35. Karen July 26, 2011 at 5:56 am #

    Wicked world, het maakt me vrolijk ongeacht watijn stemming was. De hele cd is super, als het een LP was geweest was hij nu al gaan haperen door het vele afspelen! Ik kijk uit naar je volgende album en blijf genieten van Muziek maken. Karen

Leave a Reply

