Amy Seeley

15 Jul

“People like to have their say in what you should be like and sound like, but being unabashedly yourself is the only way to possibly create anything amazing.”

Have you ever been to an art gallery, looked at a painting, and wondered to yourself how does this one person have so much talent? That’s how I feel about Amy Seeley’s music. Her beautiful voice and lyrics are just two of the things that make this girl stand out from the over-saturated world of female musicians. Being able to write a song that can convey that exact feeling that you want others to feel when listening to your songs, is not an easy task, but Amy easily achieves this.Her songs evoke numerous moods such as joy, heartache, loneliness, and somberness. With an EP and three full-length albums, the most recent being “Plum Coulee”, it’s clear that Amy will continue to get noticed by many. Recently, I interviewed her and learned much more about this incredible woman.

Q. Many girls grow up wanting to be princesses, beauty queens, or dancers. Has music always been your calling in life?

A. It’s been there all along, yes, although there have been times when I’ve given thought to other things like the phase in high school I wished I was a pro beach volleyball player. Through the course of my life I’ve definitely wrestled with my passion for music, doubted it or even pushed it aside in pursuit of other things, but ultimately, it’s a steady undercurrent that I’ve known since I was a kid and return to again & again.

Q. You recently released your latest album, Plum Coulee, which is a beautiful masterpiece. What are a few of the things that inspired you to write such heartfelt songs?

A. Gosh, thank you for that. Plum Coulee’s parts came together slowly over two years to form the complete album and each song was shaped it’s own patient time: Mile Marker, when I was seeing the light at the end of the tunnel of depression or Wreckage of a Great Ship, written about my divorce. Each of the songs were inspired by my own history or the history of the place of Montana, where I grew up (Evelyn Cameron, Oh, Surveyor ), and my desire to give voice to those internal and geographical places in an honest guts-out kind of way.

Q. You have many songs over the years of your music career. If you were able to go back in time and re-record one, which would it be and why?

A. I’d have to say Indigo Sky (from The Trees Are Glad You’re Back) or 25, from my Call It Life EP. Those songs have both evolved musically for me in a vein that I’d love to capture now, after years of playing them. Maybe I should compile some songs for a greatest hits album!

Q. What artists do you look up to that inspire you to become better at your craft?

A. Frick. There are so many right now that I can’t get enough of. Patrick Watson, for starters. His ingenuity has captivated my ears for years now. You can absolutely hear the intricacy and time-honored craftsmanship in his songs, plus he’s the only guy I’ve ever seen sing live at a show into a microphone attached to a backpack full of megaphones. Sufjan Stevens is another obvious choice. He never ceases to amaze me with his brilliant crafting of songs and then to add to that, his gutsiness in writing Age of Adz. His ability and willingness to create whatever the hell he feels, baffles me. Most recently, the new Bon Iver album has blown my mind. I heard it for the first time in my kitchen wearing giant headphones and I thought ‘oh my God- music like this can actually be made‘. It feels like divine daydreaming and that’s the music I want to be making. It’s inspired me to continue on, to be diligent and oh so patient when it comes to carefully pouring my hands and ears and heart into what I’m crafting.

Q. Everyone has that one song they can play that will instantly perk them up. What is one song that can completely turn your mood from bad to better?

A. It would be, hands down, Phoenix, If I Ever Feel Better. Pretty much, anything by Phoenix. I can’t help but start dancing.

Q. If you had the opportunity of knowing something you now know, back when you first began playing music, what would that be?

A. To not be so darn afraid and to trust in my own vision/songs I want to make. People like to have their say in what you should be like and sound like, but being unabashedly yourself is the only way to possibly create anything amazing.

Q. With social networking being what it is now, a lot of artists are independently releasing their own music. What is your opinion on doing that rather than trying to get signed to a label?

A. It’s a pretty phenomenal time to be a musician. To have the ability to record in your living room, then release your own music/create your own storefront with Bandcamp, distribute to iTunes & every other digital arena through Cdbaby and maximize use of social media platforms. It truly is what you want to make of it and a road that you get to forge any way you’d like to. Quite the shift from years ago, hoping to somehow be ‘discovered’ or get a zillion plays on Myspace. Now’s the time to just freaking go for it and carve your own path.

Q. For someone that just had their heart broken or lost a loved one, which song of yours would you dedicate to them?

A. Mile Marker. “I’ll get up and wipe my eyes. I can see far from here.”

Here is “Perfectly Bound” off of her new album. If you love this song, you’ll love the entire album.

Leave a Reply

