Zachary Lucky

7 Jul

“Every show, every city is another moment or memory waiting to happen.”

Canada’s own Zachary Lucky is a bright star that stands out and in no time, his star will only become brighter. His songwriting ability makes it easy to lose yourself in each track and the graininess of his vocals soothes you into a deep state of relaxation. I came across Zachary’s music via Bandcamp, which is a wonderful tool to find new music, and I instantly knew I wanted to feature him on the site. Here is our interview, where you can find out more about this emerging artist.

Q. First off, tell me how you got your start in music? What made you want to pick up a guitar and start singing?

A. I’m not to sure how I got to where I am now. I don’t think that music was ever something that was in my cards, it’s more so something that just fell into my lap. I started playing music at the age of 10, and frankly didn’t enjoy it too much for the first few years. I grew up playing a lot of punk and hardcore songs, and listening to music like that – played in numerous unmentioned bands growing up. When I was about 17 I started to shift towards playing solo music and that was basically the start to the journey I am still on. Since then I’ve been recording records, and touring as much as possible.

Q. Through the years of being a musician, what have been some of your favorite moments?

A. My favorite moments in my journey as a musician – performing at SXSW 2009 was definitely a big one for me – festivals in general are always great experiences – you leave everyone with a great story and new friends. I think with the release of Come and Gone came a lot of really nice moments – we did a 2 month long tour in support of that record, and almost every show on that tour was memorable. Every show, every city is another moment or memory waiting to happen.

Q. If you had to describe your new album in three words, what would they be?

A. Nostalgic – Canadiana – Restless – I feel like Come and Gone is sort of like coming across an old photo album and seeing photos that bring up memories – both good and bad. It has a lot of feelings and thoughts packed into it.

Q. What is one song you’ve written that you’re most proud of?

A. I know most artists don’t like coming off cocky, but here’s your pass! When I wrote the song Town to Town I was really proud of it – I feel that it was one of the first standard structure songs that I had written – which was a big deal to me. A lot of the time I will write songs that ramble – they come off more as prose – but that song had a definite chorus and verse, etc. To this day I am still pretty happy with it.

Q. What is one of the most memorable shows that you’ve played since starting your career in music?

A. One of my favorite shows that I’ve played is actually a pretty recent one – my band and I played at a local music festival called Vive Fest and it was in a super beautiful old church. The sound and visual of it all really connected. It was definitely magical. I think we all felt really positive about it. Hopefully things get to the point where it’s like that every night.

Q. Music lovers have their go to songs when they need a little pick me up. What are some of the songs you often choose to perk you back up?

A. I would have to say Joel Plaskett is an artist that I would sort of consider a “pick me up.” A lot of his songs are upbeat and have really relatable themes. Really singable.

Q. In your opinion, how do you feel the music industry has changed in the last twenty years?

A. I feel that the industry has changed a lot – especially after attending a number of conferences this year and hearing people on numerous panels talking about the changes. A lot of industry people are saying things like “the music industry is dying” and other similar statements – but I would completely disagree.  I think it is safe to say that the record industry is currently in decline – but there has never been a better time to be an independent musician in the industry.  There has been a large paradigm shift in what artists need to do – and how things are done (aka record sales, websites, touring, recording, etc).  I think all of those changes are in favor for independent musicians.

Q. If you could go back and re-record any one of your songs, which one would it be and why?

A. I would probably choose to leave my first records alone – they were what they were, and they accomplished what they needed to. I love how Come and Gone turned out – all of the sonic qualities and what not, but I feel like somethings on that record could have been done a little different – some different instrumentation’s and what not. All in all, I’m really happy with the material I’ve put out.

Q. What has been your biggest hurdle as an artist?

A. This is a tough one. I think making the shift from doing music as something on the side to making it your main use of your time – when music becomes a job, there is a lot of changes that come with that – and a big change in mindset. It can sometimes be hard to balance the business side of music with the creativity. I still struggle with that.

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. One of my songs?  I don’t think I’d want to take one of my songs if it was the only thing I could hear the rest of my life – but if I had to I think I might take Small town streets. Lately we’ve been playing this song with a full band, and it jams pretty nice. So maybe we could just jam it out for the rest of eternity.

Enjoy Coming Back Home off his new CD, Come and Gone.

Leave a Reply

