Jen Hirsh

12 Apr

“American Idol definitely inspired me to think with more of a mainstream mind, and for that I am thankful.”

In life, knowing what you’re born to do is not something everyone comes across. Some of us are more confused and left wondering what we want to be when we grow up. Jen Hirsh knew all along she wanted to sing. Starting at an early age, Jen was deeply impacted by all of the music surrounding her. Jen studied music in college and after graduating, went off to compete on a TV show you may have heard of, American Idol. Although she did not make it to the end, many of us know that you don’t need to win on the show to make a name for yourself. With her new release, Myself In Two, Jen Hirsh’s journey has just begun. I had the great opportunity of interviewing Jen and learned that she’s a positive and talented songstress that I can’t wait to see and hear more from in the future.

Q. What was it that got you into music and wanting to make a career out of it?

A. From an early age, music was always an important part of my life. My parents were always playing tapes/CDs during dinner, on the way to school, and I was almost always singing along. It wasn’t long until I asked for voice lessons. I think the first time I ever performed on stage at about age five, I knew I wanted to sing.

Q. You were a contestant on American Idol season 9. In what ways do you feel that it helped in your aspirations?

A. I learned a lot from my short time on American Idol. It was definitely a transition period for me, because going in to the show I was singing in mostly a Jazz/R&B style. After my Idol journey, I had learned so many great pop songs and had started writing different material with my writer, Adam Tressler. American Idol definitely inspired me to think with more of a mainstream mind, and for that I am thankful.

Q. You’ve just released your album, Myself In Two March 1. What kinds of things do you have planned next?

A. I am so excited about this release! I am looking forward to touring on the East and West Coasts in the near future and possibly a music video.

Q. A lot of singers are now being discovered in new ways such as social networking. Do you feel like it’s easier to break into the music business now or harder since there are so many people all aspiring to do make a name for themselves?

A. I feel like it’s always been hard to break into the music business. I think today, I could consider it easier to create your own fanbase in an organic, grassroots kind of way due to all of the social networking opportunities out there. I think the DIY route is a significantly longer road, but the rewards are more satisfying at the end of the road.

Q. What is the best piece of advice you’ve ever received that you like to share with others?

A. Follow your heart.

Q. If you could choose one person to cover one of your songs, who would it be and why?

A. I would have to say Prince, because Prince only covers undeniably awesome songs.

Q. Who are some of the artists you look up to?

A. I have so many influences, but to name a few of my current ones: The Beatles, Sara Bareilles, John Mayer, Radiohead, Adele, The Civil Wars.

Q. If you could plan a tour and have three other artists along for the ride, who would they be?

A. In a dreamland, I would love to tour with John Mayer, Sara Bareilles and Ray Lamontagne. Now I just have to figure out how to make dreamland a reality.

Q. Out of all of your songs, which one of them has the most meaningful lyric?

A. I’d have to say “Room So Big” has the most meaningful lyric. The chorus takes anyone back to the happiest point in any relationship.

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. This is a tough question!  I’d have to say “The Better Half” because it’s so rhythmic with so many layers of percussion, that way I wouldn’t get too bored. That song would probably motivate me for some time to try to find a way OFF the island.

Here is one of her newest songs, “The Better Half” off of her brand new CD.

Leave a Reply

