Holley Maher

7 Apr

“I look up to anyone who’s been able to experience some kind of success doing what they love. That’s an extraordinary feat, as far as I’m concerned.”

One of my favorite female singer-songwriters right now is Holley Maher. With her angelic voice and lighthearted lyrics, you can’t help but fall in love with her music. Born and raised in a small town in Eastern New Jersey, Holley was a dancer in the early years of her life, but music was never a far thought from her mind. Having her parents instill the value of music in her, she went off to school and studied it. Now living in Nashville, she has grabbed the attention of many and it didn’t take long for one of her songs to reach #1 on a local Nashville radio station. Holley has released “Odd Place To Be” and judging by the great reviews it has received, you can only count that you’d be purchasing an album worth playing on repeat. I recently interviewed Holley and learned more about her and her leaps of faith in the music world.

Q. At what age did you realize you wanted to be in the music business?

A. I didn’t even realize that music was a business for the longest time. I knew that there were these incredible super-human people who put out records, but I had zero idea how they went about it. What I knew was that I liked to sing and write songs and that was that. It wasn’t until high school that I began to consider it as an actual career option.

Q. There are so many strong female musicians in music these days. Who are a few you look up to?

A. Oh, man. I look up to anyone who’s been able to experience some kind of success doing what they love. That’s an extraordinary feat, as far as I’m concerned. I really admire the ladies who are doing “their thing,” even if it’s not the “popular thing,” like Diane Birch, Fiest and Imogen Heap. A lot of the time, (and especially for those women), doing what you love well enough will change peoples’ ideas of “popular” music.

Q. You’re currently living in Nashville, TN. What are some of your favorite things about being an artist in this city that seems to birth amazing talent?

A. I love the tight-knit little songwriting community here. It’s almost impossible to “slack” on your writing, because every other night, you’re at some amazing show or another, and you leave there going, “wow… that was awesome. I need to write some songs.” It’s good stuff.

Q. You just released your EP, “Odd Place To Be” in January. Are you playing any shows this summer in support of it?

A. Well, I haven’t announced anything formally yet, but hopefully around August/September, I’ll be planning a little tour of sorts. If anyone wants me to make a pit stop in their town (or living room!), drop me a line on Facebook. Wink wink.

Q. Artists such as Andrew Belle and Justin Branam are two known faces in the music scene also living in Nashville. Are there artists you adore from your city that are still under the radar?

A. I’ve always been a fan of the original “Ten out of Tenn”-ers. They’re a conglomerate of ten artists from Tennessee, like Katie Herzig, Matthew Perryman Jones, K.S. Rhoads, Erin McCarley… they’re all just bogusly talented. I also love Madi Diaz, The Kopecky Family Band, and The Kicks, and of course my friends Jeffrey James, Steve Moakler, and Evan McHugh.

Q. If you could do a duet with anyone, who would it be any why?

A. Justin Bieber, because I have a massive crush on him.

Just kidding.

James Taylor, because I have a massive crush on him.

Not kidding at all.

Q. What has been one of the best compliments you’ve received from someone in the business?

A. A record label executive once told me she really liked my shoes…

I think the best compliment ever is when someone tells me they’ve got one of my songs stuck in their head, or that they’re listening to it while folding laundry or driving to work.  It doesn’t really matter to me who it comes from.

Q. A lot of singers these days are known to push the envelope with their song verses or when they make public appearances. How do you feel about being able to express yourself in your own music?

A. Well, you’ll never see me in a meat dress, that’s for sure. I’d rather express myself through song, and the occasional interpretive dance. It’s a lot less likely to cue my gag reflex, not to mention that songwriting doesn’t come with the risk of E. coli. Usually.

Q. What has been your biggest leap of faith since becoming an artist?

A. Becoming an artist at all. That was a huge leap of faith. That’s what “Odd Place To Be” is about, trying to decide if you’ve got the nerve to go for it.

Q. If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life and could only bring one of your songs to listen to, which one would it be and why?

A. “Odd Place To Be.” Because being stranded on a desert island would be a really odd place to be.

Here is my favorite song (and bound to become yours as well) off of her EP, “Odd Place To Be.”

One Response to “Holley Maher”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sounds That Matter, & a BIG FAT AWESOME ANNOUNCEMENT!!! | Holley Maher | Official Website - April 8, 2011

    […] Number one, a lovely little music blog called Sounds That Matter just posted their review of my album along with a little interview I did with them a few weeks ago. Read it. Love it. Laugh at my sillies. […]

Leave a Reply

